top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Chronicles of Cardenas

Welcome to Arizona Series - Highway 89

Updated: Sep 3, 2019

This will be the 18th year that I’ve be living in Arizona. Time goes by so fast. Growing on an island I always thought the beach was something that existed everywhere. But when I moved to Arizona I realized I was far from right. So little by little I started to explore my new home and now I can say that I just love this place. Recently on my Instagram account I dedicated seven days just to Arizona. Half the week was dedicated to northern Arizona and the other half was dedicated to southern Arizona! The interesting part of doing that seven days challenge was that I realized Arizona is so wonderful, highlighting seven places is just not even close to demonstrate how amazing it is here. So I decided to do an Arizona series for my blog. A total of 10 series splitting the state in its different areas and covering as many roads as I possibly can. So welcome to my very first one.



Series num. 1 Northern Arizona (Flagstaff - Page) Highway 89


Highway 89 starts in Flagstaff which is about 2 hours north of Phoenix. Once you are cruising on the 89 you can stay straight onto Page, Arizona located right on the border between Arizona and Utah and home to Lake Powell one of the most beautiful lakes in Arizona. As you drive on the 89 you will see several signs for the Grand Canyon and other national monuments such as Sunset Crater Volcano and Wupatki. The last two are found on a loop road called Forest Service Road 545. So let's begin our journey there as those two places you’ll find right after leaving Flagstaff.

Sunset Crater Volcano


Once you enter Road 545 you will have to pay the entrance fee, currently $25 per car [not bad at all]. Sunset Crater will be the first place you’ll encounter. There you can hike the Lava Trail which like the name suggests takes you thru all the hardened Lava. This is a pretty interesting place. The first time I did this hike was about 14 years ago. Back then you could hike the actual volcano all the way to the crater which I did and it was the most amazing experience ever. I hadn’t been back there since, so when I thought of writing this blog I decided to go back just to get fresher information and sadly you’re not allowed to go hike the actual volcano anymore. Regardless this is a must see place if you’re already in the area, and it is a very easy walk for anyone no matter the fitness level.



Wupatki National Monument


Wupatki means Tall House in the Hopi language. The Wupatki dwelling has over 100 rooms, a community room and a ball court. This area was inhabited around 500AD until 1225. You will find Wupatki only 20 miles from the Volcano on the same loop road. The first time we went to Wupatki I asked myself, “how is it that people lived so closed to a volcano and what happened to them when it erupted?” Turns out that the Pueblo people actually moved to the area after the eruption of the volcano because the Lava helped the land improving the soil and therefore the agriculture. If you are able to visit this monument, take a moment to read all this history in the Visitor Center. Ask for a brochure that will have the monument numbered so you can read about each location as you walk and overall enjoy walking around in a place that’s been there for centuries see the once homeland for hundreds of people.



Grand Canyon National Park


I almost feel like there’s nothing I could say about the Grand Canyon besides it’s the Grand Canyon!!!! Nobody can possibly visit Arizona and not go to the Grand Canyon. By far the highlight of the entire state. Growing in another country I used to think about the Grand Canyon often, I know that’s weird but I’ve always read about history and geography. Since I was small I wanted to visit this wonderful place. I never thought I would be so lucky to live so close to it. If you find yourself in Arizona and out of this entire article you only have time to visit one place, go to the Grand Canyon. There’s so much you can do on your visit. From camping, to hiking and even backpacking. If you desire to hike all the way down into the canyon this is a 26 mile hike rim to rim in either very cold or very hot conditions so do not attempt it in a day. If you want to backpack it, apply online for a permit and prepare yourself to the trip and allow one day to hike down, a day to stay by the river and a day to hike back up at least. This is one of my dream backpacking trip I am hoping to do eventually.


Backpacking Permit: https://www.nps.gov/grca/planyourvisit/backcountry-permit.htm


Antelope Canyon.

Found in Northern Arizona by Page. One of the most impressive places I’ve ever visited. The colors that the light creates as it touches the sand is absolutely stunning. These pictures are taken at the lower canyon. I haven’t been able to visit the upper canyon yet but I plan to in the future. I did read online that the main difference between the upper and the lower canyon is the space as you walk. The lower canyon is much smaller so only one person at the time fits as you’re walking through.


Tour Company: https://lowerantelope.com


Note: We have only visited the lower canyon. The link above is for the tour company we used to tour the lower canyon not the upper.

Tip: Plan your visit around noon when the light is the highest that way you can catch all those colors. This time of the day can be very hot if you visit in the summer and the wait to enter the canyon can be short or long depending on how many tours are scheduled. Take water just in case you have the stand in the sun for a while.



Glen Canyon


You can find Glen Canyon on the border with Utah. First time we found Glen Canyon we were on our way back home from our first visit to Utah. We made a quick stop and started hiking for a bit because the views were amazing. There is so much to see in that area I hope one day I can return and explore more.



Horseshoe Bend


If you’re able to the best time of day to visit is sunset. When we visited we were not able to stay ‘till then because we needed to drive back home but if you have the opportunity stay until sunset that’s when the magic really happens. I recently discovered they charge $5 to enter. The hike is a bit steep but short so most definitely doable no matter the age or level of hiker you are. Worth the visit!



Monument Valley

Not on the 89 but this is the best way to make it there if you’re driving south to north so I decided to include it on here. This is one of my absolutely favorite places to hike and camp. Been there twice and I can’t wait to go again. Every place has such a unique sunrise and sunset, no exception here, and the campground is just where you want to be to experience it all.



Campground: https://monumentvalleyview.com/campground/




As crazy as it sounds there is still so much more to do in just the 4 hours between Flagstaff and Page but I hope the seven places I talked about here inspire you to start exploring this wonderful state I call home. If you live in another country and you’re considering visiting us, I hope this article peaked your interest and motivates you to get that plane ticket of jump on that car and experience all the beauty Arizona has to offer.


Article Edited by: Jesse Diaz

***None of the links on this article are affiliated links***

41 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


miriamscardenas
May 21, 2019

Awesome!! ❤️

Like
bottom of page