top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Chronicles of Cardenas

Spring Time in Phoenix, Arizona

Updated: Sep 3, 2019

Happy Spring! I am a huge fan of seasonal change, and spring is that much more special because I love seeing flowers bloom. Also the weather here in Phoenix gets absolutely delightful (Not hot / not cold). So I wanted to share some of the things I enjoy doing the most during this time of year.


1.) Visit a Local Coffee Shop


If you’re a coffee drinker you can be at peace knowing that while in Phoenix you won’t have any shortage of coffee places to visit. Among my absolute favorites are: Songbird Coffee and Tea House, Copper Star, & Cartel Coffee Bar. All of these are in completely different neighborhoods so while you visit each of them why not do little walking around too, you never know what you may find roaming my lovely city!


Songbird Coffee and Tea House                                                                         

812 N 3rd St Phoenix, AZ 85004 United States

Located by Roosevelt Row, you will find yourself right in the middle of the Art District here in Phoenix! As an artist myself this is my most beloved area in all of Phoenix. Visiting Songbird has been such a highlight for me throughout the years. My absolutely favorite drink is the vanilla free latte. Its done perfectly, just right combination of espresso, and milk. So rich in flavor! While sipping on your yummy drink, please take a look around and enjoy gazing the art featured from local artists, and the plant-life from local nurseries.


Copper Star 4220 N 7th Ave Phoenix, AZ 85013 United States

This is my favorite go-to place when I need to study or prepare anything. They have these amazing spacious tables, very comfy and the setting is just right my creative mind. My recommendation is their “Cubano” drink. Trust me! I’m Cuban! And they really know how to make a good “cafe con leche” or latte. Regardless if you enjoy it hot or cold you won’t regret ordering this drink. Located in the Melrose District, you will love taking your coffee to go, and walking through all the vintage little shops along 7th Ave. 


Cartel Coffee Lab 1 N 1st St Phoenix, AZ 85004 United States

Located right in the heart of downtown Phoenix this place is amazing!!! I personally enjoy drinking my coffee near the big windows looking out at the skyline of buildings. For a minute I feel like I’m not even in Phoenix, especially if it happens to be a cloudy or rainy day. My favorite drink is called “One and One” it’s a macchiato with an espresso shot and mineral water. It is absolutely delicious.


2.) Visit a Farmers Market 14 E Pierce St Phoenix, AZ 85004 United States

All over the valley we have amazing farmer markets but because I live very close to downtown phoenix I will focus on the large public market we have every Saturday. No matter what you’re looking for: breakfast, coffee, snacks, pastries, groceries, local art, handmade decorations, etc., you’ll find it here. It is an amazing place to spark conversations, shop, and just relax.


3.) Visit a Local Ice Cream Shop Novel Ice Cream                                                                                            

1028 Grand Ave Unit 6 Phoenix, AZ 85007 United States

Ok ... I am very biased here because this is the first place that gave me an opportunity as an artist and for the past two years they have allowed me to show my art during a First Friday (a public event) in their patio. But... that has nothing to do with the fact that I think they are the best ice cream shop in all of Phoenix...I can’t say enough how much I love this place. Plus it is located in one of my favorite parts of Phoenix along 7th Ave & Grand. Once there you can walk around and visit any of local art galleries and shops while enjoying your amazing ice cream.




Yes, spring is a time where Phoenix really shines and reminds me why I deal with the really hot summers and unpredictable winters, I can’t help but love my city for all the gems I discover every day. Please come visit and enjoy my local coffee shops, farmers markets, and all the ice cream filled doughnuts you can eat! 


Written by: Elice Cardenas Photos taken by: Carlos Cardenas Article Edited by: Jesse Diaz

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page