top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Chronicles of Cardenas

On the Road - Utah

Updated: Sep 3, 2019

Welcome to my fourth travel post. Wow! I really didn’t know I would make it this far. To be honest writing is more difficult than what it seems. But here I am. This month I would like to tell you a little more about the beautiful state of Utah.



Around eight years ago I came across a YouTube video called “The Mighty 5” and I became obsessed with visiting every single National Park in Utah. I started with Zion National Park. Then we went to Bryce, and last year in 2018 we visited Capitol Reef. The more we visit the state of Utah the more we want to go back. The more road trips we make the more places we find and we always end up planning another trip. So although I am not even close to finish visiting all the places I would like to see in Utah I would like to tell you a little bit of the ones we’ve visited to date.


1.) St. George


If you’re passing through Las Vegas this will be the first town you’ll hit as you cross the border into Utah. This was our first experience with Utah and we fell in love. The historic district is full of: galleries, museums, little vintage shops, and book stores. Plus the beautiful architecture, makes this town an amazing place to either spend a few days, or at least a short pit stop to walk around and explore.


Zion National Park

2) Zion National Park


Speechless… I mean what a majestic place. Filled with different types of hiking trails and the home of Angel’s landing and the Narrows, this is the place for anyone regardless if you’re the brave and adventurous type, or all you want to do is have a relaxing camping trip with an amazing view. No matter what you like or the type of camper/traveler you are this is the park for you.


Note:

The Narrows require permit ahead of time and going prepared as it includes canyoneering and in parts getting in the water. Do your research ahead of time and go prepared.


Angels landing trail starts as you complete the hike of Grotto trail (Walter’s Wiggles) which is a 2 mile hike. All together Grotto and Angel’s landing is a total of 2.5 miles each way (5 miles all together) plan accordingly. Take sufficient water and allow enough time as only a few amount of hikers are allowed in Angels landing trail so the line to begin the hike can be up to 2 hours under that smoldering Utah sun!


Walter’s Wiggles Trail

3.) Bryce National Park


We visited Bryce National Park in the middle of winter because I really wanted to experience while snow. The white cap of snow on red rock seems like such a beautiful sight. Sadly the weekend we went it did not snow.. Regardless it was an amazing visit simply because of that unique sunrise. We woke up very early and made the hike to Sunrise and Sunset point. The name alone should makes it pretty obvious but if you're a fan of sunrises and sunsets this is the best place in the park to experience both things. Just sit, relax, and allow the sun to slowly expose all the difference colors in the rock. Experience with your own eyes how the colors change as the sun wraps its light over the rocks and fully brings out their hue. Be prepared to end in utter awe at the sight.


Bryce Canyon National Park


4.) Capitol Reef National Park


This one was a very short visit, sadly. So I won’t spend too much time on Capitol Reef because I am planning on returning and experience it more. We were driving from Monroe to Monument Valley and all of a sudden we were taken aback that the road we were on was literally crossing the park. It was such a nice surprise, unfortunately we were fighting against the sunlight and still had a few hours drive; all we could manage was getting out if the car for a little and taking some pictures. From what I was able to see its very green and peaceful. I really can’t wait to come back, set my tent, and spend a few nights in Capitol Reef.


Capitol Reef National Park

5.) Monroe


We went to Monroe in search of hot springs and we found the best spot in Mystic Hot Springs. This place is so unique and alluring! You can choose from either buying a day pass just to get in the water, camping, or stay in one of their cabins (which hopefully I can do someday). No matter what you decide to do whether its stay a night or two or simple make a stop and soak in the water you will fall in love this place.


Mystic Hot Springs

Like I said when I began writing this article the more we drive thru Utah, the more I want to return. We still have both Canyonlands and Arches National Park on top of my list. I really want to visit the Grand Staircase in Escalante National Monument. Just recently someone told me another must place to go in Utah is the Valley of the Gods and Muley Point north of Moki Dugway. With that, my list continues to grow and grow. If you’ve never been to Utah add this wonderful state to your list, you will never end up dissapointed.



Article edited by: Jesse Diaz

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page